EventsAuthor Reading with EL Native, Sarah Baughman

This event has already occurred.

Author Reading with EL Native, Sarah Baughman

7:00 PM – 8:00 PM
East Lansing Public Library

Description

Join us for a wonderful family night out as we welcome author Sarah Baughman back to her hometown of East Lansing to entertain readers with her first novel. The Light in the Lake is a moving, page-turning debut novel about grief, family, the possibility of magic, and the beauty of science. Patrons will have the opportunity to hear Sarah read, ask her questions, and purchase copies of the book to have signed! What a wonderful opportunity for young readers to meet the author and signed books make great holiday gifts! Book sales courtesy of Schuler Books.

The Light in the Lake features twelve-year-old Addie who has been told she should avoid Maple Lake. After all, her twin brother Amos drowned there only a few months ago. But its crisp, clear water runs in her veins, and the notebook Amos left behind, filled with clues about a mysterious creature in the lake's inky-blue depths, keeps calling her back.

Brimming with hope, the agony of a child’s first experience with death, the beauty and enchantment of a summer spent lakeside, and pleasantly punctuated with STEM appeal, The Light in the Lake is an inspiring coming-of-age novel for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, When You Reach Me, and The Fourteenth Goldfish. Sarah Baughman's middle grade voice is pitch-perfect, and rarely do we see a first-time author with such a firm grasp on emotion and character. The Light in the Lake buoys themes of grief and the afterlife, while empowering brave readers to explore possibilities and wonder.

Get a sneak preview of Ms. Baughman's talk by listening to the latest episode of ELPL's podcast.  Teen Services Specialist Beth Scanlon hosts this episode.

The Director's Cut:  Episode Nine:  Talking with Author Sarah Baughman

SARAH R. BAUGHMAN grew up in East Lansing and is a former middle and high school English teacher who now works as an educational consultant and author. She graduated from Grinnell College and the University of Michigan, then went on to teach English overseas in three different countries – China, Bolivia, and Germany. After six years in rural Vermont, Sarah now lives with her husband and two children in her home state of Michigan, where she spends as much time as possible in the woods and water. The Light in the Lake is her first novel.

PRAISE FOR THE LIGHT IN THE LAKE


“Compassionately told, this compelling debut brings to life conservation issues and choices young readers will confront as adults.” Kirkus, starred review

“Heartbreaking and hopeful … The novel offers a gentle, introspective exploration of grief and the wonder and fragility of nature, creating a beautiful and dynamic world in which the scientific method and magic coexist.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Haunting, memorable and full of mystery, The Light in the Lake is a brilliant combination of beautiful, lyrical prose and a compelling, exciting story … Baughman has created complex characters with real, deep emotions and a picturesque setting that will make readers feel as if they are at Maple Lake with Addie.” BookPage

Suitable for:
All ages
Type:
Author Talks
Language:
English

Powered by BiblioCommons.

BiblioEvents: app02 Version 3.2.1 Last updated 2021/06/03 12:09

Image Built on: June 3, 2021 3:33 PM