High Lonesome

High Lonesome

New & Selected Stories, 1966-2006

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
An anthology of short fiction selected by the author herself features selections from "The Wheel of Love," "Marriages and Infidelities," and "Heat," as well as eleven previously unpublished works.


An unprecedented collection of the best of Joyce Carol Oates's short stories combined with eleven new stories

No other writer can match the impressive oeuvre of Joyce Carol Oates, and High Lonesome: Selected Stories, 1966-2006 gathers stories from Oates's seminal collections, including The Wheel of Love (1970), Marriages and Infidelities (1972), and Heat (1991), arranged by decade. All demonstrate what the Chicago Tribune has praised: "the fierce originality of Oates's voice and vision, but also how she has imbued the American short story with an edgy vitality and raw social surfaces."

& Taylor

A seminal anthology of outstanding short fiction, selected by the author herself, features selections from such collections as The Wheel of Love, Marriages and Infidelities, and Heat, as well as nine previously unpublished works. 30,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Ecco, 2006
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780060501198
Branch Call Number: FICTION OATES
Characteristics: 664 p


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at ELPL

To Top