The Planets

The Planets

Large Print - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1
1
Random House, Inc.
THE PLANETS is Dava Sobel's sweeping look at our heavenly galaxy. In the spirit of Longitude and Galileo's Daughter, Sobel once again brings science and history deftly to life as she explores the origins of the planets and reveals the exotic environments that exist in each of these fascinating alien worlds.

After the huge national and international success of Longitude and Galileo's Daughter, Dava Sobel tells the human story of the nine planets of our solar system. THE PLANETS tells the story of each member of our solar family, from their discovery, both mythic and historic, to the latest data from the modern era's robotic space probes and images from the Hubble Space Telescope. Whether revealing what hides behind Venus' cocoon of acid clouds, describing Jupiter's 'Technicolor lightning bolts and shimmering sheets of auroras,' or capturing first-hand the excitement at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory when the first pictures from Voyager were beamed to earth, Dava Sobel's unique tour of the solar family is filled with fascination and poetry.

In lyrical prose THE PLANETS gives a breathtaking, close-up perspective on those heavenly bodies that have captured the imagination of humanity since that first glimpse at the glittering night skies. This is an extraordinary book of science, history, biography and storytelling. Timely and timeless, THE PLANETS will engage and delight as it unravels the mysteries of the cosmos.


From the Compact Disc edition.

Baker & Taylor
A lavishly illustrated account in the tradition of Longitude and Galileo's Daughter explores the creation and evolution of the solar system's planets through a lens of popular culture, drawing on sources from astrology, science fiction, the fine arts, and other genres to chronicle planetary history in a relevant and accessible format for lay readers. (Science & Mathematics)

Baker
& Taylor

Explores the creation and evolution of the solar system's planets through a lens of popular culture, drawing on sources from astrology, science fiction, fine arts, and other genres to chronicle planetary history.

Publisher: New York : Random House Large Print, c2005
Edition: 1st large print ed
ISBN: 9780739325643
0739325647
Branch Call Number: 523.2 SOB
Characteristics: 320 p. (large print) : ill. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
ryner
Oct 31, 2016

Dava Sobel invites us on a narrated journey through the planets of the solar system, beginning with heat- and asteroid-pummeled Mercury and concluding with Pluto and its brethren lurking in the outermost reaches. More than simply a collection of distances, dimensions and other unadorned facts, 'The Planets' is a quick read, and by the time you're finished you'll feel as though you have befriended the entire solar system.

Ólive Jul 18, 2012

great book

flash2121 Jul 18, 2012

so cool...

BeccaBB Apr 04, 2012

There is a chapter for each planet (Pluto, the sun, and the moon have chapters too) and each chapter takes a different approach. In most you get some of the same facts like the rotation speed and atmospheric composition and such so you do get some text book like information but there is more to it than that. Venus is about beauty and includes poetry, Mars is told in the voice of a fragment found on Earth, Saturn talks about the music of the spheres, and Jupiter explores the astrology of the planet. It is a rather brief introduction to each planet and does not go in-depth very much but the unique approach makes it less a study of the science of the planets and makes it a stargazer’s wondering look at the universe. It is meant to teach you something but also to show you the wonder, imagination and glory of the planets.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Ólive Jul 18, 2012

Ólive thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 30

Summary

Add a Summary

Ólive Jul 18, 2012

There is a chapter for each planet (Pluto, the sun, and the moon have chapters too) and each chapter takes a different approach. In most you get some of the same facts like the rotation speed and atmospheric composition and such so you do get some text book like information but there is more to it than that. Venus is about beauty and includes poetry, Mars is told in the voice of a fragment found on Earth, Saturn talks about the music of the spheres, and Jupiter explores the astrology of the planet. It is a rather brief introduction to each planet and does not go in-depth very much but the unique approach makes it less a study of the science of the planets and makes it a stargazer’s wondering look at the universe. It is meant to teach you something but also to show you the wonder, imagination and glory of the planets.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top