Parasite Eve

Parasite Eve

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
When Dr. Nagashima loses his wife in a mysterious car crash, he is overwhelmed with grief but also an eerie sense of purpose; he becomes obsessed wiht reincarnating his dead wife. Her donated kidney is transplanted into a young girl wiht a debilitating disorder, bu the doctor also feels compelled to keep a small sample of her liver in his laboratory. When these cells start mutating rapidly, a consciousness bent on determining its own fate awakens, bent on becoming the new dominant species on earth.

Parasite Eve was the basis of the hugely popular videogame of the same name in the U.S. and has been cinematized in Japan.

Baker & Taylor
The award-winning novel that help innaugurate the "J-Horror" wave, along with Koji Suzuki's Ringuis presented here--a suspenseful story of biology rebelling against humanity.

Blackwell North Amer
Filled with scientific acuity and existential challenges in the tradition of Ghost In The Shell and Frankenstein, this medical fantasmagoria is a disorienting look into consciousness and will have you questioning the future of human evolution. New life begins at the cellular level, but when that cell contains restless mitochondria, it will aspire to be much more than just a speck in a Petri dish. Parasite Eve was the basis of a hugely popular videogame of the same name and has been cinematized in Japan, where the novel's smashing success helped set off a horror boom that has only been intensifying ever since.
When Dr. Nagashima loses his wife in a mysterious car crash, he is overwhelmed with grief but also an eerie sense of purpose; he becomes obsessed with the idea that he must reincarnate his dead wife. Her donated kidney is transplanted into a young girl with a debilitating disorder, but the doctor also feels compelled to keep a small sample of her liver in his laboratory. When these cells start mutating rapidly, a consciousness bent on determining its own fate awakes from an eonic sleep.

Publisher: New York : Vertical, 2005
Edition: 1st American ed
ISBN: 9781932234190
1932234195
Branch Call Number: FICTION SENA
Characteristics: 319 p. ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Grillo, Tyran

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jferrerosa2
Apr 27, 2015

It starts off quite slow and continues that way until about the end of Part 2. The last part of this novel is where everything just hits you all at once.

Age

Add Age Suitability

j
jferrerosa2
Apr 27, 2015

jferrerosa2 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top