She-wolves

She-wolves

The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Explores the lives of six women who achieved royal power against the odds, and one who never got the chance.

HARPERCOLL

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author ofWolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries. 



Blackwell Publishing
When Edward VI died in 1553, the extraordinary fact was that there was no one left to claim the title of king of England. For the first time, England would have a reigning queen---but the question was which one: Katherine of Aragon's daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyn's daughter, Elizabeth; or one of their cousins, Lady Jane Grey or Mary, Queen of Scots.

But female rule in England also had a past. Four hundred years before Edward's death, Matilda, daughter of Henry I and granddaughter of William the Conqueror, came tantalizingly close to securing the crown for herself. And between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries three more exceptional women---Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, and Margaret of Anjou---discovered how much was possible if presumptions of male rule were not confronted so explicitly---and just how quickly they might be vilified as "she-wolves" for their pains.

The stories of these women, told here in all their vivid detail, expose the paradox that female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman, and the king was the head of all. How, then, could royal power lie in female hands?

Baker
& Taylor

Explores women and power in England, as witnessed through the lives of six females who exercised power against the odds—and one who never got the chance. By the author of Blood and Roses. 20,000 first printing.
When Edward VI died in 1553, the extraordinary fact was that there was no one left to claim the title of king of England. For the first time, England would have a reigning queen, but the question was which one: Katherine of Aragon's daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyn's daughter, Elizabeth; or one of their cousins, Lady Jane Grey or Mary, Queen of Scots. But female rule in England also had a past. Four hundred years before Edward's death, Matilda, daughter of Henry I and granddaughter of William the Conqueror, came tantalizingly close to securing the crown for herself. And between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries three more exceptional women -- Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, and Margaret of Anjou -- discovered how much was possible if presumptions of male rule were not confronted so explicitly, and just how quickly they might be vilified as "she-wolves" for their pains. The stories of these women, told here in all their vivid detail, expose the paradox that female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman, and the king was the head of all. How, then, could royal power lie in female hands?-- From publisher description.

Publisher: New York : Harper/Collins, 2011
ISBN: 9780061430763
0061430765
Branch Call Number: 942.009 CAS
Characteristics: xv, 480 p. [8] p. of plates : col. ill., genea. tables, map ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
templestoweyoga
Jan 28, 2015

Really interesting book if you are interested in pre-Elisabethean history. Specifically, why and how heireditary royalty came about. Helen Castor writing is a mixture of story telling and historic information. It's a pity someone decided they took exception to one comment in her book and defaced the sentence. I will be looking to read more of her histories.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top