Painter of Silence

Painter of Silence

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
When a deaf and mute man is found on the steps of a Romanian hospital where he is recognized by a nurse with whom he shared poignant childhood experiences, his pencil sketches impart evocative images from a past that was shattered by the brutal Stalinistregime.

McMillan Palgrave

It is the early 1950s. A nameless man is found on the steps of the hospital in Iasi, Romania. He is deaf and mute, but a young nurse named Safta recognizes him from the past and brings him paper and pencils so that he might draw. Gradually, memories appear on the page: the man is Augustin, the cook's son at the manor house at Poiana, where Safta was the privileged daughter. Born six months apart, they had a connection that bypassed words, but while Augustin's world stayed the same size, Safta's expanded to embrace languages, society, and a fleeting love one long, hot summer. But then came war, and in its wake a brutal Stalinist regime, and nothing would remain the same.

Georgina Harding's kaleidoscopic new novel will appeal to readers of Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, and Sandor Marai. It is as intense and submerging as rain, as steeped in the horrors of our recent history as it is in the intimate passions of the human heart.



Baker
& Taylor

When a deaf and mute man is found on the steps of a Romanian hospital where he is recognized by a nurse with whom he shared poignant childhood experiences, his pencil sketches impart evocative images from a past that was shattered by the brutal Stalinist regime. By the author of The Solitude of Thomas Cave.

Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2012
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9781608197705
1608197700
Branch Call Number: FICTION HARDING
Characteristics: 312 p. cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

u
uncommonreader
Jan 31, 2014

Set in post WW II Eastern Europe, the protaganists are the daughter of a landowner and the deaf mute son of a servant. It is a subtle, understated novel but nevertheless is quite powerful and has something to say about how people live together.

c
cgencay
Feb 06, 2013

I'm so glad to have read from this author for the first time. This is a story of a truly beautiful relationship that can believably last forever, even when war disrupts all else. Looking so forward to the author's other works.

DJK May 22, 2012

Orange Award finalist

Age

Add Age Suitability

c
cgencay
Feb 06, 2013

cgencay thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at ELPL.

Try searching for Painter of Silence to see if ELPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top