A Dangerous Fiction

A Dangerous Fiction

A Novel

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans of The Spellman Files and Maisie Dobbs

?Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”
?NPR

Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City’s literati. At thirty-five, she’s the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan’s wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read?and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.




Random House, Inc.
When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans ofThe Spellman Files and Maisie Dobbs

“Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”
—NPR

Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City’s literati. At thirty-five, she’s the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan’s wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read—and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.




Baker & Taylor
When her clients and carefully built career as a literary agent are threatened by a would-be writer who has engaged in a stalker-like campaign of malice, Jo Donovan goes to the police and confronts her former flame, NYPD detective Tommy Cullen.

Baker
& Taylor

When her clients and carefully built career as a literary agent are threatened by a would-be writer who has engaged in a stalker-like campaign of malice, Jo Donovan is persuaded by a friend to go to the police and confronts handsome former flame, NYPD detective Tommy Cullen, in a debut entry of a new series by the author of Suspicion.

Publisher: New York : Viking, 2013
ISBN: 9780670026500
0670026506
Branch Call Number: M ROGAN 2013
Characteristics: 324 pages cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top