His Majesty's Hope

His Majesty's Hope

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

“You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

Baker & Taylor
Recruited by a spy organization separate even from MI-6 to perform her most dangerous feat yet, American ex-pat Maggie Hope, given a new identity, is parachuted into Berlin where she must destroy a part of the German war machine.

Baker
& Taylor

Recruited by a spy organization that is separate even from MI-6 to perform her most dangerous feat yet, American ex-pat Maggie Hope, given a new identity, is parachuted into Berlin where she must ultimately destroy a major part of the German war machine. Original.

Publisher: New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperbacks, c2013
ISBN: 9780345536730
0345536738
Branch Call Number: M MACNEAL
Characteristics: 354 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
carol507
Apr 18, 2015

These Maggie Hope's mysteries are one of the best thrillers I've read; well written, well researched - can't wait to read the next one and hopefully continued ones.

d
DorisWaggoner
Mar 30, 2015

This is the least believable of the series so far. Maggie and her mother don't ring true, especially her mother's reaction to her daughter. Else, the sister she didn't know existed, is a bit truer to life, and the tension in the book stems partly from not knowing what Elsa will do. Will she side with the English soldier she's been protecting, or with the mother she's been loyal to? Getting Maggie out safely is a bit of a deux ex machina, , and she doesn't react well to seeing her former lover, who she'd thought dead. I still await the next one in the series, though.

s
Shelley51
Mar 21, 2014

I really enjoyed book 1 and I sort of enjoyed book 2. This book I didn't even finish. Part of the reason was the storyline about Hitler killing children. I know it is a fact but the topic wasn't pleasure reading for me.

c
Cat49
Sep 01, 2013

Set in 1941. Main character refers to sharing half her DNA with her half sister. Huh? Elise the nurse purloins antibiotics. Huh? Reference made to "baby bump" of friend Chuck. Huh? Freddie says David was "mugged". Huh? Sloppy research. Hard to suspend disbelief when you keep running up against dialogue that would take place more appropriately in the 21st century. Author should never be compared to Jacqueline Winspear, who is meticulous in her depictions.

Summary

Add a Summary

booklady413 Jun 29, 2013

This is the third book in this series and it did not disappoint.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top