Sit

Sit

Book - 20171003
Rate this:
Perseus Publishing

The seated child. With a single powerful image, Deborah Ellis draws our attention to nine children and the situations they find themselves in, often through no fault of their own. In each story, a child makes a decision and takes action, be that a tiny gesture or a life-altering choice.

Jafar is a child laborer in a chair factory and longs to go to school. Sue sits on a swing as she and her brother wait to have a supervised visit with their father at the children’s aid society. Gretchen considers the lives of concentration camp victims during a school tour of Auschwitz. Mike survives sixty days of solitary as a young offender. Barry squirms on a food court chair as his parents tell him that they are separating. Macie sits on a too-small time-out chair while her mother receives visitors for tea. Noosala crouches in a fetid, crowded apartment in Uzbekistan, waiting for an unscrupulous refugee smuggler to decide her fate.

These children find the courage to face their situations in ways large and small, in this eloquent collection from a master storyteller.


  • Deborah Ellis’ first work of fiction since her Fall 2014, award-winning The Cat at the Wall.
  • This collection represents the best of Deborah Ellis. Accessible, well-paced but emotionally layered, character-driven stories that forward themes of a child’s independence and empowerment. Her characters can be cranky, disobedient, angry, stubborn and heroic, and young readers around the world respond to their honesty and authenticity.
  • The settings in this collection range from a Polish concentration camp to an Amish farming community to a crowded apartment in Uzbekistan, and small and large towns everywhere.
  • Curriculum connections: language arts / short story, character development; social studies / power and systems within society, rights and responsibilities, fairness and justice; health and physical education / decision making, personal safety.
  • Perfect for fans of Deborah Ellis, both middle grade and young adult. The stories cross grade levels and are thematically rich while being short and extremely accessible in reading level.

Nine poignant and empowering short stories from the author of The Breadwinner.

Publisher: Groundwood Books 20171003
ISBN: 9781773060866
1773060864

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top