Midwinter Break

Midwinter Break

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
WW Norton
For readers of Colm Toíbín, a movingportrait of a marriage in crisis and acouple’s search for salvation.
Sixteen years on from his last novel, Bernard MacLaverty reminds us why he is regarded as one of the greatest living Irish writers. A retired couple, Gerry and Stella Gilmore, fly from their home in Scotland to Amsterdam for a long weekend—a holiday to refresh the senses, to do some sightseeing, and generally to take stock of what remains of their lives. Their relationship seems safe, easy, familiar. But over the course of the four days we discover the deep uncertainties that exist between them.Gerry, once an architect, is forgetful and set in his ways. Stella is tired of his lifestyle, worried about their marriage, and angry at his constant undermining of her religious faith. Things are not helped by memories that have begun to resurface of a troubled time in their native Ireland. As their midwinter break comes to an end, we understand how far apart they are—and can only watch as they struggle to save themselves.MacLaverty is a master storyteller, and Midwinter Break is the essential MacLaverty novel: accurate, compassionate observation; effortlessly elegant writing; and a tender, intimate, heartrending story. Yet it is also a profound examination of human love and how we live together, a chamber piece of real resonance and power. Forty years after his first book, MacLaverty has written his masterpiece.

Baker & Taylor
A retired couple struggling with their differences and uncertainties attempt to repair their marriage during a vacation in Amsterdam, where they confront painful memories of a troubled time in their native Ireland.

Baker
& Taylor

A retired couple struggling with his dogmatic forgetfulness and her religious faith attempt to repair their marriage during a vacation in Amsterdam, where they confront painful memories of a troubled time in their native Ireland. By the award-winning author of Grace Notes.

Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton & Company, [2017]
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780393609622
Branch Call Number: FICTION LAVERTY 2017
Characteristics: 243 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

u
unicorn1
Aug 21, 2018

I loved this book. Author Colm Toibin commented that the book is: "full of scenes that are rendered with exquisite accuracy and care..." It is a peaceful and insightful read that reveals the complexity of human relationships. Thank you to the library for purchasing this book at my request.

u
uncommonreader
Jul 23, 2018

This is a beautifully written book, but the emptiness of the lives of the couple is very depressing reading.

b
brian35a
May 05, 2018

A bit of a slog at times, but overall worthwhile read.
What happens to an old and possible drained marriage when the only offspring is living abroad, she is a devote Catholic, and he is a "deluded alcoholic"? Slowly and meticulously MacLaverty draws us into the biography of a marriage, and what happens when it may have run its course.

l
laphampeak
Nov 26, 2017

Written with grace and tenderness. MacLaverty takes us on a midwinter break with a senior couple who display an aged relationship that has cured into an awareness of each of their individual truths. Gerry, a retired architect, now moves from moment to moment, place to place, looking for his next drink to fulfill. Stella seeks to pay for a debt from her past by religious exclusion. See how it plays out............

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top