Dread Nation

Dread Nation

Rise up

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
4
2
1
Rate this:
When families go missing in Baltimore County, Jane McKeene, who is studying to become an Attendant, finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy that has her fighting for her life against powerful enemies.
Publisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers ; [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ℗♭2018
ISBN: 9780062570604
0062570609
Branch Call Number: YA IRELAND
Characteristics: 451 pages ; 21.5 cm
Alternative Title: Rise up

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jayna_DCL May 16, 2018

During the Civil War the dead rise again to become zombies or shamblers as they are now known. A weird, but awesome book, this will appeal to fans of "World War Z" or Justin Cronin's "The Passage."

AL_MARY Apr 18, 2018

Even if you don't generally pick up books with supernatural elements you will be riveted by this story of Jane, a black woman forced to train as an "attendant" who will protect wealthy young white ladies from the Undead, who have risen up from their graves of the civil war. Jane is spunky and smart, and the plot races along to an exciting, dangerous end. There's much to think about in this alternate US history story.

p
poppygaston
Mar 25, 2018

Received this as a egalley. Loved the premise, the characters, and the pace of the story.

KCLSRacheal Jan 21, 2018

As someone who thought they were 110% done with zombie stories, I can say that this is something fresh and amazing. I'd recommend this to just about anyone- people who love a rip roaring good yarn, people who like well written, well crafted stories that know what they're doing, people who love fantastic character development and flawed but kick-butt characters.

Age

Add Age Suitability

e
ElenaLikesBooks
May 10, 2018

ElenaLikesBooks thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

SCTeenBookClub May 02, 2018

SCTeenBookClub thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

SCTeenBookClub May 02, 2018

Parents need to know that Dread Nation is alternative-history zombie thriller that takes place after the U.S. Civil War ends not with the South's surrender but when the dead begin to rise up on the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville. Author Justina Ireland explores what would've happened had zombies (or shamblers, as they're called in the book) stopped the war in order for Americans to come together to battle the undead (or force black and indigenous folks to fight them). Like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, the book features a good deal of violence, as is appropriate to a story about zombie slayers (lots of deaths either from the undead eating live humans, or from humans shooting, stabbing, decapitating the undead, or people beating, stabbing, and shooting one another). There are also some racial slurs of the era ("darkie," "colored," "pickaninny," "coon," etc.) in the story. Parents and teens who read the book together can discuss a host of socio-political and historical issues, from institutional racism and white supremacy to shadism, passing, educational segregation, well-intentioned but ineffective white benevolence, and more.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at ELPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top